Bach

Motets

Program

Johann Sebastian Bach’s motets are so numerous that they can be combined in a single concert that they occupy a special place in the choral repertoire. Composed during the first years in Leipzig by the composer (1723-1731), these pieces have all the more weight in his eyes as they belong to a genre that his family has been practicing for generations. As a chapel master at St Thomas’s Church, Bach was in charge of composing for funerals and memorial services. Now, in the Lutheran liturgy, it is the kind of motet that is used for this type of service.

For Bach motets more than anywhere else, dexterity and virtuosity comparable to those of musicians are required, as the vocal line can be instrumental. Bach skilfully combines tradition and innovation. He applies on the one hand the rules that Josquin Des Prés fixed in the sixteenth century so that his polyphonic language consists of imitative writing and passages in homophony where the voices are led to sing the same text simultaneously. He also embellished his writing with two Italian practices: the use of the double choir and the insertion of madrigalisms aimed at musically translating certain words of the text.

When he came to Leipzig in 1789, Mozart would not fail to be won over by the sumptuousness of these pieces, which he was so quick to study in detail that he thought they were nourishing. Listening to these motets, is it still possible to doubt the existence of paradise on earth?

Distribution
La Chapelle Harmonique (choir & orchestra)
Valentin Tournet, conductor
Dates

Sunday June 21st 2020, 16h
Chapelle Royale de Versailles

Bach

Motets

Programme

Bien que n’étant pas très nombreux, au point de pouvoir être réunis dans un seul et même concert, les motets de Jean-Sébastien Bach occupent une place de choix au sein du répertoire choral. Composés lors des premières années à Leipzig du compositeur (1723-1731), ces pièces ont d’autant plus de poids à ses yeux qu’elles appartiennent à un genre que sa famille pratique depuis des générations. En tant que maître de chapelle à l’Église St Thomas, Bach est entre autres chargé de composer pour les funérailles et pour les offices commémoratifs. Or, dans la liturgie luthérienne, c’est au genre du motet que l’on fait recours pour ce type de services.

Pour les motets de Bach plus que partout ailleurs, une dextérité et une virtuosité comparables à celles des musiciens sont requises tant la ligne vocale peut s’avérer instrumentale. Bach allie ici habilement tradition et innovation. Il applique d’une part les règles que Josquin Des Prés a fixées au XVIe siècle si bien que son langage polyphonique se compose d’écriture imitative et de passages en homophonie où les voix sont amenées à chanter simultanément le même texte. Il agrémente d’autre part son écriture de deux pratiques italiennes : l’emploi du double chœur et l’insertion de madrigalismes visant à traduire musicalement certains mots du texte.

De passage à Leipzig en 1789, Mozart ne manquera pas d’être conquis par la somptuosité de ces pièces qu’il s’empresse d’étudier en détail tant il estime qu’elles sont nourrissantes. À l’écoute de ces motets, est-il encore possible de douter de l’existence du paradis sur terre ?

Distribution
La Chapelle Harmonique (chœur et orchestre)
Valentin Tournet, direction
Dates

Dimanche 21 juin 2020, 16h
Chapelle Royale de Versailles