Marin Marais & M. de Sainte-Colombe

Tous les matins du monde

Program

Every morning in the world represents the fundamental shock of my childhood, but also of my life as a musician. When I was four years old, I discovered the soundtrack of the film – and around seven years old, it still has some pretty impressive scenes for toddlers!

But from that first contact with the music alone, everything was played. Of course, I owe it to my father, guitarist, and to my mother, a passionate music lover, to have made me hear it, but there was no pedagogical discourse on their part. The encounter was purely sensitive, with the timbre of the viola da gamba, which I immediately asked to learn. I had already heard the instrument on the disc, used for the continuous bass. Never his voice alone, whose colors and inflections fascinated me much more than the orchestral ranges of the disc, which one could imagine easier to access.

Over the years, I naturally immersed myself in the narration of Alain Corneau’s film, then immersed myself in Pascal Quignard’s novel. I was measuring, comparing the performance of Jordi Savall in the soundtrack and that of the same works during his concerts, how much he put himself with the premiere in the shoes of the characters of Sainte-Colombe and Marin Marais, infusing every accent of their psychology, even if it means taking an antihistorical approach that he obviously did not retain by playing the spare parts of this context. The desire also to abstain from the musicological constraints imposed on me by my teachers, most often rightly, and also to indulge in this theatrical exercise with my own intuitions and my own sensibility then became irresistible.

Several bets, rules and assumptions have guided me in this pascalien game that is a reconstruction for our use of Tous les matins du monde.
The first will be to give all the music of the film, in the order in which the audience discovers it by seeing it. This obviously excludes to stick to one or two viols, and asks the question of the numbers for vocal and orchestral pieces! Hence the presence of the two singers for the Third Lesson of Darkness by Couperin, and the consort that allows us to produce an effective reduction of the extracts of the Bourgeois Gentilhomme by Lully. I thank the faithful musicians of the Harmonic Chapel for agreeing to take part in this adventure for sometimes very short interventions! For these contrasts are indispensable to recollection, to the introspection of Sainte-Colombe in Le Retour or Les Regrets.

The relationship to the text and the stage will be other issues in this journey in which we want to train the spectators. Very quickly, we gave up the idea of projecting images of the film, which would appear redundant. On the other hand, a work of staging will avoid the prosaic character of a simple concert, creating between the musicians and the actor an atmosphere that would free the dramatic power of words and notes. Given the important differences between Pascal Quignard’s novel and the dialogues he signed with Alain Corneau for the film, we opted for the seconds, directly linked to the musical choices. Amazed by the voice of Hervé Pierre in La Conférence des oiseaux à l’Athénée, I dared to approach him, and to my great happiness, he agreed to accompany us. Not being free for the creation, he put me in touch with some of his colleagues at the Comédie-Française. Hence the incredible luxury of being able to give this project in alternation with major actors!

VALENTIN TOURNET
Paris, November 2018

Distribution

Alice Duport-Percier and Axelle Verner, soprano
or Lise Viricel and Lina Marcela-López, soprano
Evgeny Sviridov or Alix Boivert, violin
Jean-Christophe Dijoux or Camille Ravot, harpsichord
Eric Bellocq ou Albane Imbs, theorbo
Natalia Timofeeva, viola da gamba & cello
Valentin Tournet, viola da gamba & conductor

Dates

Saturday August 10th, 2019, 9 p.m.
Church of Ahun

Wednesday August 14th 2019, 6 p.m.
Festival du Périgord Noir

Thursday august 22nd 2019, 8:30 p.m.
Festival des Lumières, Montmorillon

Friday October 11th, 2019, 8 p.m.
Auditorium du Louvre, Paris

Thursday January 9th, 2020
La Guérétoise de spectacle

Saturday January 11th, 2020, 8:30 p.m.
Musique Baroque en Avignon

Monday January 20th, 2020
Festival de Musique de Toulon et sa Région

Marin Marais & M. de Sainte-Colombe

Tous les Matins du Monde

Programme

Tous les matins du monde représente le choc fondateur de mon enfance, mais aussi de ma vie de musicien. J’ai découvert à quatre ans la bande originale du film – et vers sept ans ce dernier, qui comporte tout de même quelques scènes assez impressionnantes pour les tout-petits !

Mais dès ce premier contact avec la musique seule, tout était joué. Je dois évidemment à mon père, guitariste, et à ma mère, mélomane passionnée, de me l’avoir faite entendre, cependant il n’y eut de leur part aucun discours pédagogique. La rencontre fut purement sensible, avec le timbre de la viole de gambe, que je demandai immédiatement à apprendre. J’avais déjà entendu l’instrument au disque, utilisé pour la basse continue. Jamais sa voix seule, dont les couleurs et les inflexions me fascinèrent bien davantage que les plages orchestrales du disque, qu’on pouvait imaginer plus facile d’accès.

Au fil des années, je m’imprégnais évidemment de la narration du film d’Alain Corneau, puis me plongeais dans le roman de Pascal Quignard. Je mesurais, en comparant l’interprétation de Jordi Savall dans la bande-son et celle des mêmes œuvres durant ses concerts, combien il s’était mis avec la première dans la peau des personnages de Sainte-Colombe et Marin Marais, infusant chaque accent de leur psychologie, quitte à assumer une approche antihistorique qu’il ne retenait évidemment pas en jouant les pièces détachées de ce contexte. L’envie de m’abstraire également des contraintes musicologiques que m’imposaient mes professeurs, le plus souvent à juste titre, et de me livrer également à cet exercice théâtral avec mes propres intuitions et ma propre sensibilité devint alors irrésistible.

Plusieurs paris, règles et postulats m’ont guidé dans ce jeu pascalien qu’est une reconstruction à notre usage de Tous les matins du monde.
Le premier sera de donner toute la musique du film, dans l’ordre où le public la découvre en voyant celui-ci. Ce qui exclut évidemment de s’en tenir à une ou deux violes, et pose la question des effectifs pour les pièces vocales et orchestrales ! D’où la présence des deux chanteuses pour la Troisième Leçon de Ténèbres de Couperin, et le consort qui nous permet de produire une réduction efficace des extraits du Bourgeois Gentilhomme de Lully. Je remercie d’ailleurs les musiciens fidèles de la Chapelle Harmonique d’accepter de prendre part à cette aventure pour des interventions parfois très courtes ! Car ces contrastes sont indispensables au recueillement, à l’introspection de Sainte-Colombe dans Le Retour ou Les Regrets.

Le rapport au texte et à la scène seront d’autres enjeux de ce voyage dans lequel nous voulons entraîner les spectateurs. Très vite, nous avons renoncé à l’idée de projeter des images du film, qui paraîtraient redondantes. En revanche, un travail de mise en espace évitera le caractère prosaïque d’un simple concert, créant entre les musiciens et le comédien une atmosphère propre à libérer le pouvoir dramatique des mots et des notes. Compte tenu des différences importantes entre le roman de Pascal Quignard et les dialogues qu’il signe avec Alain Corneau pour le film, nous avons opté pour les seconds, directement liés aux choix musicaux. Emerveillé par la voix d’Hervé Pierre dans La Conférence des oiseaux à l’Athénée, j’avais osé l’aborder, et pour mon plus grand bonheur, il a accepté de nous accompagner. N’étant pas libre pour la création, il m’a mis en contact avec quelques-uns de ses collègues à la Comédie-Française. D’où ce luxe incroyable de pouvoir donner ce projet en alternance avec des comédiens majeurs !

VALENTIN TOURNET
Paris, Novembre 2018

Distribution

Anne-Sophie Petit, soprano
Evgeny Sviridov, violon
Jean-Christophe Dijoux, clavecin
Eric Bellocq, théorbe
Natalia Timofeeva, viole de gambe & violoncelle
Valentin Tournet, viole de gambe & direction

Dates

Mardi 15 janvier 2019, 20h
Galerie dorée de la Banque de France, Paris

Mardi 21 mai 2019
CRR 93, Aubervilliers